Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Kentucky Board of Diabetic Educators

Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators

The purpose of the Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators is to administer and enforce the statutory authority and to monitor the needs of the consuming public. The board licenses all eligible candidates for entry into the profession of diabetes education. It recommends appropriate changes in the law to assure fairness and equality. The board conducts formal hearings when necessary and prosecutes by due process any violators of KRS 309.

The board is a self-supporting agency and receives no General Fund tax appropriation. It is funded entirely through fees assessed for licensing its professionals.

Please note:  Any correspondence received in the board office or on the Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators website becomes public information and will be shared with the board members.

Comments and questions can be directed by email to Board Administrator Jennifer Hutcherson at

Note: Applications can be found by selecting the Resources tab, then Applications and Forms.  Once you select Applications and Forms, another screen will display with the initial application.  Please refer to the FAQ document on the right under Quick Links before you start the application process.
The grandfathering deadlines for licensure as a diabetes educator or master diabetes educator are as follows:
  • May 1, 2014 for those applying under the 1,000 hours of experience each year for the past three years (for a total of 3,000 hours or experience over the past three years)
  • Or July 1, 2014 for those applying under the core body of knowledge. 

Once licensed, the credential initials are as follows:

  • Licensed Diabetes Educators (LDE)
  • Master Licensed Diabetes Educators (MLDE)